Script Analysis and a peppermint tea

Three amazing things are happening right now:

  1. I’m in my final year of my professional writing studies (so much work…)
  2. I have a new role at work (sooooo much work!)
  3. I joined a script analysis workshop (because I didn’t think I had enough work to do)

Script Analysis

Script Analysis by Cracking Yarns.

This is the really exciting one: Script Analysis is a 3-hour virtual classroom every Tuesday night for the next five weeks. We’ll study two scripts a week, and pull them apart to reveal the stuff that works, and the stuff that bores.

It’s an extension of a 2-day Screenwriting Workshop I attended in Feb, only this one allows me to sit at home in slippers while sipping a peppermint tea. I know the next five weeks will be intense, but that’s what I loved about Allen Palmer’s workshop.

Meanwhile, in other writerly news, I’m battling through a creative non-fiction unit (personal essays and memoirs) and a professional research unit (corporate stuff – policies, briefing notes, etc). Quite the contrast. The latter is a bit out of my interest zone, so the challenge is just getting through them. And then there’s the day job which is ramping up in a major way, and that scares me a little.

In the words of Dory from Finding Nemo, “Just keep swimming.”

Share your thoughts

